About EPRA

EPRA is made up of, and run by the phenolic resin manufacturers in Europe. For over 30 years, though the efforts and expertise of the member companies, EPRA has worked tirelessly to develop and promote the safe and compliant manufacture, transportation, storage and use of phenolic resins.

EPRA has 13 Phenolic Resin producing members representing the vast majority of the European industry. The member companies are covering more than 90% of the European market – excluding foundry application.
Their production exceeds an annual volume of > 800.000 tons and represents total sales of around 1 billion €.

EPRA is an affiliated member of CEFIC (Conseil Européen de l’Industrie Chimique).

Objectives of EPRA

  • develop and maintain a positive image for phenolic resins by promoting their safe and proper manufacturing, handling use and benefits.
  • maintain a high level of technical understanding of phenolic resins, identifying the needs for toxicological and environmental research, sponsoring the work when needed and working with scientists and regulators for the presentation and interpretation of results.
  • collect pertinent literature and prepare industry position papers on major issues.
  • initiate and maintain a dialogue with regulators, opinion formers, pressure groups and trade associations.
  • maintain a technical dialogue between the companies and with the CEFIC special parties as support to its responsibility on environment and safety, as expressed in the CEFIC’s Responsible Care programme.
  • co-ordinate work with industry groups having similar interests, at national and international level (e.g. in the USA).
  • collect from member companies and distribute to member companies statistical information related to the production, sale and use of phenolic resins within various applications.
  • Management of EPRA is primarily controlled through the “General Assembly” (GA). This meets twice per year and oversees all other activities of EPRA and any other sub-committees. The Chairman of the GA is elected by members of EPRA, and serves for a period of two years before new elections.